Menü

Wilfried Bauer
Life and Work


Early on, Bauer, a pupil of Robert Häusser, developed his own expressive and subjective visual language. The loner hides behind the camera, keeping the world at a distance with it. At the same time he makes contact through it, shows soul landscapes in the familiar, loads banality with a deeper sense. The photographer as a poet, as a translator who succeeds in making the invisible visible.

In the seventies, eighties and nineties of the last century, Bauer was one of the most sought-after and successful reportage photographers in Germany; his series were printed millions of times. He finds his subjects on countless journeys all over the world for FAZ Magazine, ZEITmagazin, stern, GEO, Merian and SPIEGEL. But he also finds them at the kitchen table, in his immediate surroundings and in the Haseldorfer Marsch.

The partial destruction of his archive by a fire that the photographer set in the apartment before his suicide limits the availability of the motifs. Once again, the question of the future of photographic archives and estates arises. In the case of Wilfried Bauer, the commitment of Dr. Ute Schreiner, makes it possible, that the F.C. Gundlach Foundation, the Martha Pulvermacher Foundation and the Rudolf Augstein Foundation are able to preserve and develop his extraordinary life's work.

Menü

Wilfried Bauer
Leben und Werk


Früh schon entwickelt Bauer, ein Schüler Robert Häussers, eine eigene, expressive wie subjektive Bildsprache. Der Einzelgänger verbirgt sich hinter der Kamera, hält mit ihr die Welt auf Distanz. Zugleich nimmt er durch sie Kontakt auf, zeigt Seelenlandschaften in längst Bekanntem, lädt Banales auf mit tieferem Sinn. Der Fotograf als Poet, als Übersetzer, dem es gelingt, Unsichtbares sichtbar zu machen.

In den siebziger, achtziger und neunziger Jahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts ist Bauer einer der gesuchtesten und erfolgreichsten Reportage-Fotografen in Deutschland; seine Serien werden millionenfach gedruckt. Er findet seine Sujets auf unzähligen Reisen, die er für FAZ Magazin, ZEITmagazin, stern, GEO, Merian und SPIEGEL in alle Welt unternimmt. Er findet sie aber auch am Küchentisch, in seinem unmittelbaren Umfeld und in der Haseldorfer Marsch.

Die teilweise Zerstörung seines Archivs durch das Feuer, das der Fotograf vor seinem Suizid in der Wohnung legte, beschränkt die Verfügbarkeit der Motive. Einmal mehr stellt sich die Frage nach der Zukunft von fotografischen Archiven und Nachlässen. Im Falle Wilfried Bauers ermöglicht  der engagierte Einsatz von Dr. Ute Schreiner, der Stiftung F.C. Gundlach, der Martha Pulvermacher Stiftung und der Rudolf Augstein Stiftung die Erhaltung und Erschließung seines außerordentlichen Lebenswerkes.