Menü

[Return] Photography in the Weimar Republic

Altonaer Museum

 

7 June to 13 August 2018
From the archives of the LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn, the F.C. Gundlach Foundation Hamburg, the Deutsche Fotothek Dresden and the Altonaer Museum

The 7th Triennial of Photography under the title "Breaking Point. Searching for Change" is about the potential of the medium of photography to stop the passage of time for a moment - and thus possibly initiate a change. In the exhibition "[RETURN] Photography in the Weimar Republic" we deal, among other things, with roots, heritage and learning from the past. At the same time, the exhibition is part of Hamburg's programme of events "Commemorative Year 1918/19: Towards Democracy".

The eventful years of the Weimar Republic are not only characterised by revolution and innovation in politics and society, but also in such diverse areas as fashion and dance or technology and industry. Photography accompanies the young republic in all its developments, changes itself as a medium and reinvents itself in the process: technically, thematically and aesthetically.

In the Altonaer Museum, the exhibition approaches the era in four thematic areas: "Revolution and Republic", "From Slowfox to Grotesque Dance", "The Fashion of the Golden Twenties" and "From New Objectivity to New Vision" and provides impressions of events and trends from the years 1918 to 1933.

The selection of images compiled for the Triennial of Photography is a preview of the comprehensive exhibition "Photography in the Weimar Republic 1918-1933", which will be shown at the LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn in 2019. The local historical conditions of the Weimar period are represented by groups of works from the archive of the Altonaer Museum. Thus, photographs around the 'Altonaer Bloody Sunday' on 17 July 1932, which was used as a pretext for the removal of the Prussian government and the restriction of fundamental rights, point to the failure of democracy in the National Socialist terrorist state.

In cooperation with the LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn, the F.C. Gundlach Hamburg Foundation and the Deutsche Fotothek Dresden, supplemented by loans from ullstein bild Berlin.

Opening:
Wed 6 June 17 o'clock
Altonaer Museum

Menü

[Return] Fotografie in der Weimarer Republik

Altonaer Museum


7. Juni bis 13. August 2018
Aus den Archiven des LVR-LandesMuseums Bonn, der Stiftung F.C. Gundlach Hamburg, der Deutschen Fotothek Dresden und des Altonaer Museums

Im Rahmen der 7. Triennale der Photographie unter dem Titel „Breaking Point. Searching for Change“ geht es um das Potential des Mediums Fotografie, den Lauf der Zeit für einen Moment anzuhalten – und damit unter Umständen einen Wandel einzuleiten. In der Ausstellung „[RETURN] Fotografie in der Weimarer Republik“ setzen wir uns unter anderem mit Wurzeln, Erbe und dem Lernen von der Vergangenheit auseinander Zugleich ist die Ausstellung in das Veranstaltungsprogramm der Stadt Hamburg zum „Gedenkjahr 1918/19: Aufbruch in die Demokratie“ eingebunden.

Die wechselvollen Jahre der Weimarer Republik zeichnen sich nicht nur in Politik und Gesellschaft, sondern auch in so unterschiedlichen Gebieten wie Mode und Tanz oder Technik und Industrie durch Revolution und Innovation aus. Die Fotografie begleitet die junge Republik in allen ihren Entwicklungen, wandelt sich als Medium und erfindet sich dabei neu: technisch, thematisch und ästhetisch.

Im Altonaer Museum nähert sich die Ausstellung der Epoche in vier Themenkreisen: „Revolution und Republik“, „Vom Slowfox zum Grotesktanz“, „Die Mode der Goldenen Zwanziger“ und „Von der Neuen Sachlichkeit zum Neuen Sehen“ geben Impressionen von Ereignissen und Strömungen der Jahre 1918 bis 1933.

Die anlässlich der Triennale der Photographie zusammengestellte Bildauswahl ist eine Preview auf die umfassende Ausstellung „Fotografie in der Weimarer Republik 1918-1933“, die 2019 im LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn gezeigt werden wird. Die lokalgeschichtlichen Verhältnisse der Weimarer Zeit werden durch Werkgruppen aus dem Archiv des Altonaer Museums repräsentiert. So weisen Aufnahmen rund um den ‚Altonaer Blutsonntag’ am 17. Juli 1932, der als Vorwand für die Absetzung der preußischen Regierung und die Einschränkung der Grundrechte verwendet wurde, auf das Scheitern der Demokratie im Nationalsozialistischen Terrorstaat voraus.

In der Kooperation des LVR-LandesMuseums Bonn, der Stiftung F.C. Gundlach Hamburg und der Deutschen Fotothek Dresden kann aus den reichen Archivbeständen der Partner geschöpft werden, die durch Leihgaben von ullstein bild Berlin ergänzt werden.

Eröffnung:
Mi 6. Juni 17 Uhr
Altonaer Museum